This is an “Online Classroom” CCW Renewal class, also referred to as “Blending Learning”, for those needing to fulfill the 4-hour state training requirement for a California Concealed Firearm Renewal Permit. You must already have a current California CCW (or if it’s expired it must be within your sheriff’s grace period to still take the renewal class). The option on this page is for a Private range qualification, instead of a Public group qualification day. The Blended Learning option allows CCW Renewal applicants to take nearly all their required classroom training online. For the CCW Renewal permit, the curriculum is divided into 6 online modules and a few quizzes that total 4 hours of instruction. After completing the online training, contact us to set up an in-person setting to complete a few practical exercises and do a Q & A to clarify any content from the online course (Ventura County applicants must also retake the written test). From there we’ll head to the shooting range where you’ll complete the live fire qualification with the guns you’re adding to your permit and we’ll sign your course certificate. California state law requires that every 2 years the applicant must complete a live fire qualification with every firearm that is being listed on the permit. This means that even though you may have qualified the same gun 2 years prior, you are still required to requalify that gun and any new gun to be added.
There are several advantages to taking your CCW Renewal class in a private Blended Learning format. You can watch the online training videos at your own convenience and from the comfort of your home. The only constraint is that you must have the online training completed before coming to the in-person portion and range.
Another advantage to online training is that we’ve included a Bonus Section of several videos available for you to watch at no additional cost. These sections were originally part of our full day classes before we streamlined the course. While we feel that this additional material addresses very important CCW concepts, this section is not mandatory to view. The core 6 modules that you are required to watch meets the mandatory 4 hour curriculum required by California law.
Scheduling Your Range Day
For scheduling your in-person range session, we use several ranges in Orange County (Orange, Stanton, and Brea) so where we go just depends on their availability and closeness to you. There’s an extra surcharge of $100 for travel time and fuel if you’d like us to travel to you in Los Angeles, Ventura, or San Diego Counties. Scheduling is generally flexible on weekdays. Please note that after registering and gaining access to the online class, you’ll have 6 months to complete the curriculum and to schedule your range date. After that time, your payment may be forfeited or at minimum there may be a price increase. This is due to changing range fees that we cover in your behalf and other operating expenses that we have no control over. Please see the tab below about cancellations and changes for further information or contact us if you have any other questions.
The course is currently approved by the Orange County Sheriff’s Department, the Ventura County Sheriff’s Office, the San Diego County Sheriff’s Departments, and several police departments within Los Angeles County (please check with us as to which ones before registering).
Other Sign-up Options
The basic details are found by clicking on the “Class Details” tab to the side of this box. Please read ALL of the tabs regarding what to expect from class, what to bring, and the terms for cancellation or rescheduling.
Also, if you’re interested in adding the optional “multi-state CCW” qualification and for the optional fingerprinting, the prices listed on the website are only for public classes. We can still arrange the required one-hour of training privately, but the cost is $100 for the additional time and the option can be chosen at checkout. We will need to arrange the location where we will meet to accomplish this because the ranges do not always have a classroom available. You are also always welcome to join our public classes at the rate of $30 for that optional training.
If you’re interested in a full “in-person” renewal class instead of an online classroom, the cost for one person (within Orange County) is $350, but the rates go down with each additional person added. This is based on a one-day “in-person” classroom instruction. The classroom portion can be taught at your home or office or at our classroom in Huntington Beach and is estimated to take about 6 hours total depending on traveling time to the range. Please contact us to schedule the private, full “in-person” option.